Skip navigation

I feel weird this week. Not depressed or anything…maybe just a little sad. I feel like everyone has a best friend. Not even a best friend. It could be a sibling or a boyfriend but everyone has someone.

And really, I don’t.

And I don’t think it’s so wrong that I want that either. I want someone to talk to and someone to be excited for. I want a history with someone. I want to smile when I get a text because it’s from someone I really care about.

Doesn’t being lonely kinda suck?

4 Comments

  1. I think it can suck when you want have a relationship and it doesn’t happen. That’s I use to feel, especially when I saw all those happy couples at school or on the street. I felt like I was being deprived of the universal right to share my soul with another human being. Watching Nicholas Sparks movies only made me want it more.

    Then came a time, not too long ago, that I thought, “I need to want me and share my life with me.” Huh? Same thing I thought. I noticed I spent little time complimenting myself, as a boyfriend would do, going out to have fun by myself, and appreciating the longest relationship I’d ever experienced. The one with myself.

    Oddly when I was fine and content with knowing I wanted a boyfriend but also wanting to know myself, I met my boyfriend.
    What was even more strange was he was thinking the exact same thing about himself and his life.

    I think that there’s a guy out there journaling about wanting to love and to be loved, and the subtle lonely feeling of being single. Now wait for the universe to pull it’s strings 🙂

    • Well first of all, you’re awesome for replying like that. 😛

      Second, I totally get what you’re saying. I’m just gonna do me for a while and let what happens, happen. I’ll wait patiently for any string the universe feels inclined to pull and I’ll enjoy self-discovery.

      Also, aren’t Nicholas Sparks movies the shiz-nit?…as well as being a sick kind of torture.

  2. I know it’s cliche but I really think the best things do come to those that wait. Everyone I know in a speedy relationship seem to crash and burn. The ones that wait or waited seem to have found their soulmate. Good luck to you 🙂

    And Nicholas Sparks movies are an endorsement for kleenex

  3. I’m married. I have five children. I have a mom, a dad, a sister, about eight aunts and uncles and three thousand seventy eight cousins (give or take); a few friends I’ve known most of my life but only talk to on significant occasions; I have neighbors across the street who are like family to me… But the feeling of loneliness is as familiar as my middle name.

    I say all this to convey that no matter who you are, how popular you might he, how big your family is, how many “friends” your facebook claims you have or how smart or successful you are, we are all paddling our own tiny a rowboat in a sea of turbulent and unpredictable solitude. For many of us, the isolation isn’t physical… It’s emotional. And sometimes, it’s not until we finally have those people we thought we had always hoped for in our darkest moments of feeling completely alone before we discover that the very feeling of loneliness we spent all our lives running from wasn’t about anyone else. It was always about us.

    I’ve found that the most intelligent and compassionate people are usually the ones who experience this the most. The ones who simply long for one single soul to reflect back to us all the deep and meaningful truths we carry around, heavy like mud in our delicate souls, so that by their very presence in our lives it all somehow becomes more bearable. But as a wife to a wonderful husband and a mom to five incredible boys, I am often plagued by the very same emotions you wrote about.

    Keep writing. 🙂


Tell me what you think in a reply :) Comment here!

